Nights and Weekends with the Animals: Feeding Snakes, Cleaning Cages, Chillin’ with the Lounge Lizards, etc.


I’m not gonna lie, Chris does the bulk of annoying animal chores.  While Chris may view this as an injustice, I view it as a mere matter of practicality.  As a team, we are supposed to be partners functioning to achieve the same ends.  I prefer to take the quickest route to those ends.  So, while it takes me an hour plus to turn this ugly into beauty in the mornings, it takes Chris a mere 15 minutes or so.  What can I say?  He wakes up just as pretty as he went to bed!  So, instead of making me do 20 minutes of chores M-F in addition to the lengthy preparation for work, why not balance it out a little and put that 20 minutes on his side?  As a partnership, we are achieving our ends faster!

Don’t let him fool you, however.  I do my part.  Three things that Chris generally avoids is the twice a week snake feeding sessions, lizard bath sessions, and the kids’ out time.  All of these events are quite time consuming.  You see, we have 4 snakes that have to be fed separately.  The two big snakes get fed once a week and the baby snakes get fed twice a week.  All the snakes have to be fed separately and effort is made to avoid feeding them in their enclosures where substrate can get stuck to their food, possibly causing an impaction.

Generally, each lizards gets a half hour bath each week.  These are mostly separate baths as I try my best to prevent any spread of potential parasites.  All the lizards have had fecals done and have been cleared of parasites after treatment, but I still don’t like to take my chances.

Furthermore, all the animals get out time each week, usually every day even.  It’s a full-time job that I love but there are days that I get tired and wish I could be stoic against their piercing “let me out to play” stares.  Multiply the number of animals that require being watched while they are out by the time amount of time that I let them out, and that becomes a LOT of baby-sitting.

However, one perk of having the lizards out is that sometimes they like to just go to sleep against me on the couch.  That also means that sometimes I can get away with having more than one out at a time without them attacking each other.  Normally they head bob at each other and the iguana will even try to attach the smaller lizards.  -but, when they are sleeping they will pile up on each other in a very cute way.  That is one of the many rewards of the effort required to take care of these animals.  Seeing the lizards pile up together and “snuggle bug” in a fleece blanket or on my lap.

Lizards Napping Together

Our lizards sleeping together.

Anyway, I’d also like to point out that I’ve got weekend feeding duties for all of the animals as well, except when I luck out and Chris just does it anyway out of habit.  AND, lizard cage cleaning!

6 responses to “Nights and Weekends with the Animals: Feeding Snakes, Cleaning Cages, Chillin’ with the Lounge Lizards, etc.

  1. I just came across your blog and I’m pretty hooked! You guys sound just like me and my boyfriend-except we do parrots lol. Your reptiles are gorgous, and I’m so impressed their all socialized to hang out together! Thats awesome!

    • Hi ifeathers! Thanks for stopping by and checking out our blog. It is good to know that there are other people out there that also enjoy animals.

      I love parrots! I’ve always dreamed of having one! How many do you have and what types are they?

      Thanks for the compliment regarding our reptiles. They truly are the highlight of my life. Our pictures may be a little deceiving because even though they can sleep together if we are supervising, during the day they are not like this at all. Our iguana tries to attack other animals who come around him and will bob at the other lizards when they are out of their enclosures, or when he is out and can see them in their cages. He will try to bite at them through the glass or plastic. Lucky, the blue tegu, doesn’t seek to harm other lizards but is like a bull in a china shop and just refuses to notice anything within his path. The bearded dragons are pretty docile but the Sloan, the male, will also try to pick fights with the iguana, or hold his ground at the very least. Finally, Chuck, the chuckwalla, is afraid of everyone and everything. I purchased him at a reptile expo but I believe the seller lied to me about him being captive bred. He actually exhibits the mannerisms of a wild chuckwalla.

      Overall, I would not recommend that anyone commingle their reptiles. When they get sleepy and want to hang out with us, I can sneak them together in a cute lizard pile up, however! :-)

      • We have five all together-I have two handicapped cockatiels, a handicapped budgie, and a red throated conure, and my boyfriend has a cockatiel as well (we haven’t moved in together-yet lol) Theyre all relatively small, but once we’re done with college we plan to move into the bigger guys. We just like exotics in general though. I have a mali uromastyx (Wally!) and I’ve been wanting to get a chuckwalla for a long time, and I’m now on a tortoise kick. My parents have forbidden anymore animals in the house though, so I have to wait until we move out lol.

        Ok, the sleeping lizards makes much more sense now. I was having visions of the reptile whisper here, because I don’t think Wally would even tolerate another uro, let alone a tegu lol. He’s quite spoiled and has lived by himself for a long time lol.

        • Sounds like you have quite the crew yourself. How did you come to acquire so many handicapped birds? I am very interested in learning more about birds, especially parrots. I’ll check out your blog too. :-)

  2. What type of chuckwalla do you have? I have a San Esteban chuckwalla named Wally. He would run away when I first got him, but now I handle him everyday and he is very mello. His name is Wally. It is nice to know other Chuckwalla people are out there. I would love to see a picture of your chuckwalla. I had an iguana for 14 years. He was a sweetie but died 2 years ago.

    • Hi Nancy! Sorry for the delay in my response. I am an auditor and this is our busy season. I have been working around the clock essentially. To answer your question, I am not sure what type of Chuckwalla he is. I tried to identify him but he doesn’t look like any chuckwallas in the picture. Unfortunately, when we bought him the seller said that all the chuckwallas there were captive bred but didn’t know what type. Through working with our chuckwalla, Chuck (how original a name lol), we really think he was wild caught somewhere. We will definitely post up some pictures of him as I think my next post will be a spotlight on him. Maybe you can help identify him? I’d love to see pictures of Wally as well. Sorry to hear about your iguana :-(

Leave a Reply

